SharkSkin Wetsuit

Shark Attack @ Lake Bled


Shark Attack @ Lake Bled
Shark Attack @ Lake Bled

The weather and the water here at the herat of the Alps got colder, so I needed some kind of wet-suit for my paddle training for the surf trip booked just 2 more weeks from today. In the cold rainy days in the first week of September I was quite unhappy as I was unable to do my paddle training because of the cold. I was searching for the  came across an information about some new “wet suit” called SharkSkin. It’s something completely new on the market. A product made in Australia and by now unknown for Europe.

SharkSkin Wetsuit Materials
SharkSkin Wetsuit Materials

After reading the information on the SharkSkin Slovena Facebook page about the construction and the materials of the wet suit. Something just clicked inside my head and I said to my self; “You simply must have one of these suits.”

I mean, imagine . . . To have a wet-suit preforming material, which is super thin and padded with a really feel-pleasant thermal layer. A wet-suit made of breathable water and wind resistant materials which keeps your temperature just right all the time.

For me, it’s quite unpleasant to be in a normal wet-suit, cause as soon as I put it on me I start to feel as I would be in a sauna.  Especialy if there is sunny weather. Also, every time I come to the line-up paddling I also feel to much heat sealed in my wet suit. I don’t like it.

SharkSkin Wet Suit
SharkSkin Wet Suit

I tried the SharkSkin wetsuit the first day I’ve got it. Like after 2 hours of buying it, it was already in the testing water of lake Bled. Quite ironacly, today is the first sunny warm day of September and I could’ve go even without this suit. But I said to my self: “Let’s give it a test about not getting hot in this wetsuit.”

SharSkin Wetsuit In The Water
SharSkin Wetsuit In The Water

When I put this wetsuit on for the first time, I was quite surprised with the pleasant softness of the interior. When I put it on, it felt like almost I don’t have anything on me. Really pleasant feeling of body freedom.

And when I got in the water, the feeling was even stranger. You are used in a normal wetsuit that you don’t feel any water in the area of the wet suit. And in the SharkSkin Wetsuit you feel the water everywhere.  It felt a bit cold, but after a few minutes it all just evened out. And when paddling to the island of Bled the “just right” temperature spreaded throughout the whole of my body.

SharSkin Duck dive Training, Lake Bled, Slovenia
SharSkin Duck dive Training, Lake Bled, Slovenia
Drying Clothes On he Highway
Drying Clothes On he Highway

After I finished the training for today, I helped my sister and her friend  to paddle back the boat and in the 15 minutes it took us to reack the mainland the Sharkskin wet suit was already a dry suit. I don’t know how they did this, but when you get out of the water in the SharkSkin wetsuit, the water just pours down from you. Amazing. Just for the sake of it I drove the car with the wetsuit still on and the seat stayed completley dry.

Sharskin Wetsuit
Sharskin Wetsuit

And this sure will make our surf trips much much easier. At least the wetsuit will not be drying on the wind shield ventilation heating on the highway. And most importantly. I will never, ever have to put on a wet wetsuit. It’s the feeling the most unpleasant chilly feeling, isn’t it?

SharkSkin Wetsuit Rules.
Thumbs up Australia!

 

 

 

Photos Of Sharskin Lake Bled Paddle Training

Share your part

